Delhi Sultanate

Delhi Sultanate (1206-1526AD)

After death of Mohammed Ghori  there were many contenders for throne, out of which  Qutb-ud-din Aibak ascended throne and started slave dynasty rule. The Muslim invasions into India had ultimately resulted in the establishment of Delhi Sultanate which existed from A.D. 1206 to 1526. Five different dynasties – the Slave, Khalji, Tughlaq, Sayyids
and Lodis – ruled under the Delhi Sultanate

  • Slave Dynasty (1206-1290)
  • Khalji Dynasty (1290-1320)
  • Thuglaq Dynasty (1320-1414)
  • Sayeed Dynasty (1414-1451)
  • Lodhi Dynasty (1451-1526)

  • First three dynasties belonged to Turkish race.
  • Sayeeds were Arabs and they proclaimed their descedency from Prophet Mohammed.
  • Lodis were Afghans.
  • Most number of Sultans were from first dynasty
  • Least number of Sultans from Lodi dynasty.
  • Thuglaqs ruled for long time and Khalji ruled for short time.
  • Thuglaqs ruled vast territory.
  • Sayeeds ruled least territory.