HeadquartersDhaka, Bangladesh
What is it ?
  • Regional organization comprising seven Member States lying in the littoral and adjacent areas of the Bay of Bengal constituting a contiguous regional unity
  • BIMSTEC has also established a platform for intra-regional cooperation between SAARC and ASEAN members.
  • Technological and economic cooperation among south Asian and southeast Asian countries
  • Commerce, investment, technology, tourism, human resource development, agriculture, fisheries, transport and communication, textiles, leather etc. have been included in it
  • Region – 22 % of the total world population.

The first BIMSTEC Disaster Management Exercise-2017 (DMEx-2017) was held in New Delhi.

MembershipFounding Members(BIST-EC)  :Bangaldesh, India, Sri Lanka, Thailand
  • New Members:  Myanmar-1997, Bhutan and Nepal – 2004

Renamed BIMSTEC in 2004 Summit.

  • Alphabetical Order
  • Currently – Sri Lanka
  • 1st Summit: Thailand in 2004
  • 2nd Summit : India in 2008
  • 3 rd Summit: Myanmar in 2014
  • 4th Summit: Nepal in 2018
  • 5th Summit: Sri Lanka – 2022