Non-scheduled banks

Non-scheduled banks, by definition, are those that do not adhere to the RBI’s regulations. They are not mentioned in the Second Schedule of the RBI Act, 1934, and are therefore deemed incapable of serving and protecting depositors’ interests.

Non-scheduled banks must also meet the cash reserve requirement, but not with reserve banks, but with themselves. They are generally smaller in size and have a range of influence that is somewhat narrow. They are risky to do business with due to their financial limitations. The reserve capital of these banks is less than 5 lakh rupees.

There are 11 Non-Scheduled State Cooperative Banks as described by RBI. Furthermore, 1500 Non-Scheduled Urban Co-operative Banks as described by RBI