Indian financial system: Commercial Banking system

Commercial banks can be broadly divided into public sector, private sector, foreign banks and RRBs. In Public Sector Banks the majority stake is held by the government. After the recent amalgamation of smaller banks with larger banks, there are 12 public sector banks in India as of now. The banking system in India defines banking through the Banking Companies Act of 1949.