Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Five Eyes Alliance

Context: Australia will allow non-Australian citizens from Five Eyes countries (Five Eyes Alliance) to join its armed forces, in order to meet the shortage of personnel.

About Five Eyes Alliance:

  1. Five Eyes Alliance: It refers to an intelligence-sharing partnership among five countries: the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.
  2. These nations collaborate closely on intelligence matters, sharing information to protect their shared national interests.
  3. Origins of the Alliance:The alliance traces its origins back to World War II when the UK and the US decided to share intelligence after successfully breaking German and Japanese codes.
  4. It began as the Britain-USA (BRUSA) agreement, later evolving into the UK-USA (UKUSA) agreement, with Canada joining in 1949 and New Zealand and Australia in 1956.
Five Eyes
five countries


Fig: Five Eye countries

Source: TH