Print Friendly, PDF & Email

UNESCO Global Geoparks network

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: UNESCO


Context: UNESCO has added 18 new sites to its Global Geoparks network, bringing the total to 213 across 48 countries.

  • These new geoparks are located in Belgium, the Netherlands, Brazil, China, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, and Spain.
  • Each geopark showcases unique geological features and cultural heritage, contributing to sustainable development and promoting local communities


UNESCO’s Global Geoparks (UGGPs) emerged in 2015, building upon the geopark concept that originated in the mid-1990s

UGGPs are unified geographical areas recognized for their international geological significance and managed with a holistic approach encompassing protection, education, and sustainable development.

They are governed by a body with legal recognition under national legislation. Designation as a UGGP is not permanent; it is reassessed every four years.

Additionally, membership in the Global Geoparks Network (GGN) is mandatory for UGGPs, promoting collaboration and networking among geoparks worldwide.