Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bharat Ratna Karpoori Thankur

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: TOI

 Context: The Centre has announced the posthumous award of the Bharat Ratna to Karpoori Thakur, former chief minister of Bihar, on his birth centenary.

  • Known as “Jannayak” (leader of the people), Thakur was a prominent backward caste leader in Bihar.
  • Thakur’s radical policy decisions, including removing English as a compulsory subject, implementing alcohol prohibition, and introducing a layered reservation system, had a significant impact.


About Bharat Ratna:

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India, awarded by the President of India.

It is conferred “in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order” without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.

The award was established on January 2, 1954, by the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad.

Initially, the Bharat Ratna was only awarded for exceptional services in the fields of science, arts, literature, and public services, but the criteria were later expanded to include any field of human endeavour.

The recipients receive a certificate signed by the President and a medallion. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. It does not carry any monetary grant. It is not a title under Article 18.