Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Argentina rejects BRICS membership

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: TH

 Context: Argentina has formally rejected the invitation to join the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa) group of major emerging economies.

  • The membership of Argentina, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates was due to take effect from January 1, 2024.


Why did Argentina Reject BRICS Membership?

New Argentinian President Milei,  during his election campaign, Milei had expressed a geopolitical alignment with the United States and Israel, emphasizing a reluctance to ally with communists. The decision aligns with his campaign promises and reflects a shift in foreign policy from the previous administration.