Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Human Rights and agencies involved

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: UN

 Context: The UN has said that there has been a rise in intimidation and violence in the West Bank, particularly in the Nablus area. This violence has led to the displacement of over 820 Palestinians.


Various UN agencies involved in the protection of Human Rights:

Organization Description
OCHA (United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs) Part of the United Nations Secretariat. Responsible for coordinating humanitarian actors in emergency response. Established in 1998 (HQ: Geneva), formerly the United Nations Department of Humanitarian Affairs. The mandate includes mobilizing aid, sharing information, supporting humanitarian efforts, and advocating for crisis-affected communities.
UNRWA (United Nations Relief and Works Agency) Established by the UN General Assembly in 1949 (HQ: Amman and in Gaza). Supports Palestinian refugees in five fields of operation. The mission focuses on helping Palestinian refugees in Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, the West Bank (including East Jerusalem), and the Gaza Strip. Funded primarily by voluntary contributions and financial support (including about USD 5 million every year from India). Defines Palestine refugees based on their place of residence during the 1948 conflict
UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) A global organization under the UN dedicated to saving lives, protecting the rights, and improving the future of refugees and forcibly displaced communities. Founded in 1950 (HQ: Geneva), primarily to assist European refugees.
UN Human Rights Council An inter-governmental body within the UN system focused on strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights worldwide. Established in 2006 (HQ: Geneva), replacing the former United Nations Commission on Human Rights – OHCHR serves as the Secretariat. Composed of 47 UN Member States, elected by the UNGA based on equitable geographical distribution. Members serve for three years, with no immediate re-election after two consecutive terms