Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ASEAN summit

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: TH

 Context: Prime Minister, in his address at the 20th ASEAN-India summit in Jakarta, Indonesia, emphasized that ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) plays a central role in India’s Act East Policy.


ASEAN, established on August 8, 1967, initially consisted of five member states: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Over the years, it expanded to include Brunei Darussalam, Lao PDR, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam. ASEAN’s core principles include regional cooperation in various fields, promotion of regional peace and stability, and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.


India is part of the ASEAN Plus Six grouping, which includes China, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, and Australia.

India and ASEAN signed a Free Trade Agreement in 2010 and have seen trade growth, except during the pandemic years of 2020 and 2021.