Print Friendly, PDF & Email

FIDE Chess World Cup



Source: TH

In the FIDE World Cup finals, Magnus Carlsen secured his first-ever title, defeating Indian chess prodigy R. Praggnanandhaa in Baku, Azerbaijan. Praggnanandhaa has become the second Indian after Viswanathan Anand to reach a World Cup final.

Praggnanandhaa’s spirited performance earned him a spot in the prestigious Candidates Tournament, despite his loss.


About FIDE World Cup:

The FIDE World Cup, established in 2000 by the International Chess Federation (FIDE), encompasses various iterations. Since 2005, it’s been a 128-player single-elimination chess tournament, a vital part of the World Chess Championship qualification. The format includes 7 rounds of “mini-matches” with 2 games each, followed by rapid and blitz tiebreaks if needed. The final consists of 4 games before tiebreaks.


About the Candidates Tournament:

It has been organized by FIDE since 1950 and determines the challenger for the World Chess Championship. The winner faces the reigning World Champion. Historically held triennially until 1992, since 2013, it follows a 2-year cycle.

About the World Chess Championship

It determines the world champion in chess. Ding Liren (China) won the 2023 championship, defeating Ian Nepomniachtchi, while Magnus Carlsen opted not to defend his title.