Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Source: PIB


Context: The indigenous Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) called Tejas has completed seven years of service in the Indian Air Force.


About Light Combat Aircraft (LCA):

The LCA programme was started by the Government of India in 1984  to replace ageing Mig 21 fighter planes. The government established the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) (under the Department of Defence Research and Development) to manage the LCA programme.
Designed byAeronautical Development Agency (ADA)


Manufactured byHindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL)
FeaturesLightest, smallest, and tailless multi-role supersonic fighter aircraft in its class.
Designed to carry a range of air-to-air, air-to-surface, precision-guided weapons.
Air-to-air refuelling capability, carefree handling, enhanced manoeuvrability, multi-mode airborne radar, and self-protection suite
Maximum payload capacity of 4000 kg.
Maximum speed of Mach 1.8.
The range of the aircraft is 3,000 km.
VariantsTejas Trainer: 2-seater operational conversion trainer for training air force pilots.
LCA Navy: Twin- and single-seat carrier-capable for the Indian Navy.
LCA Tejas Navy MK2: Phase 2 of the LCA Navy variant.
·        LCA Tejas Mk-1A: Improvement over the LCA Tejas Mk1 with a higher thrust engine.

·        LCA Mk2 is an upgraded version of the LCA Tejas Mk1. It will replace Jaguars, MiG-29s, and Mirage 2000s. The General Electric GE-414 engine  (from the USA) will power the LCA Mk2.