Print Friendly, PDF & Email

World Test Championship final



Source: TH

 Context: Australia convincingly defeated India by 209 runs in the World Test Championship final held at The Oval

With this victory, Australia became the second team, after New Zealand, to win the prestigious Mace. This marks India’s second consecutive loss in the WTC final.


About WTC:

The World Test Championship is a two-year cricket tournament where nine teams compete to become the undisputed World Test champion. Each team plays six series, three at home and three away.

The points system has been revamped (for just completed 2nd edition), with each Test match now offering 12 points for a win, four points for a draw, and six points for a tie. The standings will be determined by the percentage of available points collected, allowing for comparisons between teams regardless of the number of matches played.


Consider the following statements in respect of the ICC World Test Championship: (UPSC 2022)
1. The finalists were decided by the number of matches they won.
2. New Zealand was ranked ahead of England because it won more matches than England.

Which of the above statements is/are correct?

[A] 1 only [B] 2 only [C] Both 1 and 2 [D] Neither 1 nor 2


Answer: D


Finalists of ICC World Test Championship are to be decided by percentage of points earned, not by the number of matches won by them.  New Zealand won less matches than England but won more points, thus entering the final.