Print Friendly, PDF & Email

75 years of UN Peacekeeping Forces

Facts for Prelims (FFP)

Source: TH

 Context: India has suffered the highest number of casualties among its peacekeepers in United Nations (UN) peacekeeping operations over the past 75 years.

  • Also, three Indian U.N. peacekeepers were honoured posthumously with the Dag Hammarskjold Medal


About UN Peacekeeping Forces:

EstablishmentThe UN Peacekeeping Forces were established when the UN Security Council approved the deployment of UN military observers to the Middle East in 1948 ( this year is the 75th anniversary).
PurposeUN peacekeeping forces assist nations in transitioning from war to peace, carrying out missions approved by the UN Security Council (UNSC) and the UN General Assembly.
Guiding PrinciplesConsent of the parties; Impartiality; Non-use of force except in self-defence and defence of the mandate
CompositionIt deploys soldiers, police, and civilian peacekeepers from around the world to carry out peacekeeping missions.
International Day of UN PeacekeepersCelebrated on May 29th every year; 2023 Theme: “Peace begins with me”
India’s ContributionIndia has deployed more than 2,75,000 troops, including a significant number of women peacekeepers, in over 51 U.N. peacekeeping missions. It has also deployed significant civilian and police personnel, including an all-women contingent ( since 2007).
FatalitiesFatalities occur due to worsening political and security situations in the areas where peacekeeping operations take place, engagement with criminal or terrorist organizations, and challenges in maintaining stability and security.
Measures to Control FatalitiesMaintain geographical equilibrium and diversify the nations contributing forces; Implement India’s 10-point formula to address security and operational challenges; Build confidence and cooperation with the host state; Determine the mission agenda.
About Dag Hammarskjold Medal


The medal is a posthumous award and the highest honour awarded to U.N. Peacekeepers who have distinguished themselves by exceptional courage, devotion to duty, and sacrifice in the cause of peace. It was established in 1997 and named after Dag Hammarskjöld, the second Secretary-General of the United Nations,