Print Friendly, PDF & Email

AI Supercomputer ‘AIRAWAT’

Facts for Prelims (FFP)

Source: PIB

 Context: The AI supercomputer ‘AIRAWAT,’ located at C-DAC in Pune, India, has achieved a ranking of 75th in the world on the Top 500 Global Supercomputing List.

  • Significance: This recognition places India among the top AI supercomputing nations globally.



It is part of the National Program on AI initiated by the Government of India, aligning with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision of “AI for All.”

  • Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology envisions scaling AIRAWAT to a computing capacity of 1,000 AI Petaflops to meet the current AI computational requirements.

Benefits: The deployment of AIRAWAT will empower academia, research labs, the scientific community, industry, and startups to develop indigenous AI-enabled products and solutions, particularly for addressing India-specific challenges.

Topic Information
About Supercomputer A supercomputer is an extremely powerful and high-performance computer capable of performing complex calculations and processing large amounts of data at incredibly fast speeds. It is used for tasks that require immense computational power.
Measurement The processing speed of a supercomputer is measured in PETAFLOPS (ten to the power 15 floating point operations per second). FLOPS (floating point operations per second) are typically used to measure the performance of a computer’s processor.
Maximum China has the maximum number of supercomputers globally, followed by the United States, Japan, France, Germany, Netherlands, Ireland, and the United Kingdom.
Supercomputers in India India’s first supercomputer was PARAM 8000. It was followed by PARAM Shivay, PARAM Shakti, PARAM Brahma, PARAM Yukti, and PARAM Sanganak, installed at various institutions in India.
Previous AI supercomputer ranking In 2020, PARAM Siddhi, the High-Performance Computing-Artificial Intelligence (HPC-AI) supercomputer, achieved a global ranking of 62nd among the Top 500 most powerful supercomputer systems in the world.
National Supercomputing Mission The National Supercomputing Mission (launched in 2015) with the goal of enhancing research capacities and capabilities in India. It aims to connect various research institutions to form a Supercomputing grid using the National Knowledge Network (NKN).
Nodal Ministry The National Supercomputing Mission is jointly steered by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY).
Implementation The Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC), Pune, and the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru, are responsible for implementing the National Supercomputing Mission.
Phases of the Mission The mission is planned in three phases: Phase I focuses on assembling supercomputers, Phase II aims to manufacture certain components within the country, and Phase III involves designing a supercomputer in India.