Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Collective Security Treaty Organisation:

GS Paper 2:

Syllabus: Bilateral, Regional and Global Groupings and agreements involving India.



The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) has marked its 30th year, at anniversary summit hosted by Moscow recently.


About Collective Security Treaty Organization:

  • It is an intergovernmental military alliance (six countries) that came into effect in 2002.
  • Its origin can be traced to the Collective Security Treaty, 1992 (Tashkent Treaty).
  • The headquarters is located in the Russian capital of Moscow.
  • The objectives of the CSTO is to strengthen peace, international and regional security including cybersecurity and stability, the protection on a collective basis of the independence, territorial integrity and sovereignty of the member states.



Current CSTO members are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation and Tajikistan.


Current Affairs


What does membership entail?

  1. CSTO membership means that member states are barred from joining other military alliances, limiting, for example, their relationship with NATO.
  2. Most importantly, membership presumes certain key security assurances – the most significant of which is deterring military aggression by third countries.
  3. In the CSTO, aggression against one signatory is perceived as aggression against all.
  4. It however remains unclear whether this feature works in practice.


Insta Curious:

India joined the UK in drive known as ‘Five Eyes’ group of nations, as a seventh member in 2020. What is this group about? Reference: read this.



Prelims Link:

  1. About CSTO.
  2. Composition.
  3. Objectives.

Mains Link:

Discuss about the significance of CSTO.


Q.4) The CSTO includes:

  1. Armenia.
  2. Belarus.
  3. Kazakhstan.
  4. Bangladesh.

Choose the correct answer using the codes given below:

  1. 1 only.
  2. 2 and 3 only.
  3. 2, 3 and 4 only.
  4. 1, 2 and 3 only.  

Sources: the Hindu.