Print Friendly, PDF & Email


GS Paper 2:

Topics Covered: Important International institutions.



Leading media groups from the five BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) have put together a three-month long training programme for journalists.

  • The programme was an initiative of the BRICS Media Forum.


About the BRICS Media Forum:

  • The Forum was established in 2015 by media organisations from the five countries, including The Hindu, Brazil’s CMA Group, Russia’s Sputnik, China’s Xinhua and South Africa’s Independent Media.
  • The Forum was “conceived and developed so that it can function as an independent initiative and set of practical activities undertaken within the broad framework of BRICS cooperation”.



What is BRICS?

BRICS is the group composed of the five major emerging countries – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

  • It together represents about 42% of the population, 23% of GDP, 30% of the territory and 18% of the global trade.
  • The acronym BRIC was coined by economist ‘Jim O’Neill’ of Goldman Sachs in 2001 to indicate the emerging powers that would be, alongside the United States, the five largest economies of the world in the 21st century.
  • In 2006, BRIC countries started their dialogue, which since 2009 takes place at annual meetings of heads of state and government.
  • In 2011, with South Africa joining the group, the BRICS reached its final composition, incorporating a country from the African continent.



Insta Curious:

Have you heard about PARIS21 grouping? Reference: read this.



Prelims Link:

  1. About BRICS.
  2. Summits.
  3. Presidency.
  4. Organisations and groups associated with BRICS.

Mains Link:

Discuss the significance and relevance of BRICS for India.

Sources: the Hindu.