Print Friendly, PDF & Email

National Trust:

GS Paper 2

Topics Covered: Government policies and interventions for development in various sectors and issues arising out of their design and implementation.



The Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment had recently organised meetings with officials and other stakeholders of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh for implementation of National Trust Act, 1999.



This act looks into the welfare of people with autism, cerebral palsy, mental retardation and multiple disabilities.

  • The Act also provides for the setting up of the National Trust.


About the National Trust:

The National Trust is a statutory body of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.

current affairs



The objectives of the National Trust in particular are:

  • To enable and empower persons with disability to live as independently and as fully as possible within and as close to their community as possible;
  • To facilitate the realisation of equal opportunities, protection of rights and full participation of persons with disability;
  • To extend support to its registered organisations to provide need-based services; and
  • To evolve procedures for appointments of guardians and trustees for persons with disabilities.


Disabilities under NTA:

The National Trust works for the welfare of persons with any of the following four disabilities:

  1. Autism
  2. Cerebral Palsy
  3. Mental Retardation
  4. Multiple Disabilities



Prelims Link:

  1. About the National Trust.
  2. Objectives.
  3. Functions.
  4. About the NTA Act, 1999.

Mains Link:

Discuss about the roles and functions of the National Trust.

Sources: PIB.