Print Friendly, PDF & Email

National Commission for Minorities

GS Paper 2

Topics Covered: Statutory, regulatory and various quasi-judicial bodies.



Former IPS officer Iqbal Singh Lalpura, has been chosen as chairman of National Commission for Minorities.


About the NCM:

  • National Commission for Minorities (NCM) was set up under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.
  • It Monitor the working of the safeguards for minorities provided in the Constitution and in laws enacted by Parliament and the state legislatures.

Please note, Six religious communities, viz; Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been notified in Gazette of India as minority communities by the Union Government all over India.



Setting up of the Minorities Commission (MC) was envisaged in the Ministry of Home Affairs Resolution In 1978.

  • In 1984, the ‘Minorities Commission’ was detached from the Ministry of Home Affairs and placed under the newly created Ministry of Welfare.
  • In 1992, with the enactment of the ‘National Commission for Minorities Act (NCM Act), 1992’, the MC became a statutory body and was renamed as the ‘National Commission for Minorities’ (NCM).
  • In 1993, five religious communities The Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) were notified as minority communities.
  • In 2014, Jains were also notified as a minority community.
  • At present National Commission for Minorities functions under the jurisdiction of Ministry of Minority Affairs.


  • NCM consists of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and five members and all of them shall be from amongst the minority communities.
  • Total of 7 persons to be nominated by the Central Government should be from amongst persons of eminence, ability and integrity.
  • Each Member holds office for a period of three years from the date of assumption of office.


Other constitutional provisions to safeguard the Minorities:

  • Article 15 and 16.
  • Article 25.
  • Article 26.
  • Article 28.
  • Article 29.
  • Article 30.
  • Article 350-B: The 7th Constitutional (Amendment) Act 1956 inserted this article which provides for a Special Officer for Linguistic Minorities appointed by the President of India.

(Find out what these constitutional provisions say).


Insta Curious:

Do you know how are minority schools exempt from RTE and SSA? Reference: read this.



Prelims Link:

  1. About NCM.
  2. Composition.
  3. Functions.
  4. Minorities in India.
  5. Procedure to be followed for inclusion or exclusion from the list.

Mains Link:

Discuss about the rights conferred on minorities by the Constitution.

Sources: the Hindu.