Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Quality standards for 4 more spices

Topics Covered: Important International institutions, agencies and fora, their structure, mandate.

Quality standards for 4 more spices:


The Codex Committee on Spices and Culinary Herbs (CCSCH) has finalised and recommended quality standards for four spices; cloves, oregano, basil, and ginger.

  • The committee forwarded these four new standards to the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) for adoption.

What is CCSCH?

  • Formed in 2013, CCSCH is the youngest of the Codex Commodity Committees.
  • The Committee is Chaired by India and Spices Board India is its Secretariat.
  • This committee is mandated to elaborate worldwide, science-based quality standards for spices and culinary herbs, in accordance with the Codex principles of consumer protection and fair trade practices.

About CAC:

Set up in 1963, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) is an intergovernmental body established jointly by the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) and the World Health Organisation (WHO), within the framework of the Joint Food Standards Programme to protect the health of consumers and ensure fair practices in the food trade.


Prelims Link:

  1. About Codex Alimentarius.
  2. About CAC.
  3. What is CCSCH?

Mains Link:

Write a note on the Codex Committee on Spices and Culinary Herbs (CCSCH).

Sources: PIB.