Print Friendly, PDF & Email

National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project (NCRMP)

Topics Covered: Disaster management.

National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project (NCRMP):


Launched by the Centre to address cyclone risks in the country.

  • The objective of the Project is to undertake suitable structural and non-structural measures to mitigate the effects of cyclones in the coastal states and UTs of India.

About the Project:

  • To be implemented by the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) under the aegis of the Ministry of Home Affairs, along with coordination from the respective state governments and the National Institute for Disaster Management (NIDM).
  • The Project has identified 13 cyclone prone States and Union Territories (UTs), with varying levels of vulnerability.
  • To be assisted by the World Bank.

These States/UT have further been classified into two categories, based on the frequency of occurrence of cyclone, size of population and the existing institutional mechanism for disaster management.

  1. Category I: Higher vulnerability States i.e. Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Odisha, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.
  2. Category II: Lower vulnerability States i.e. Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Goa, Pondicherry, Lakshadweep, Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Components of the Project:

  • Improved early warning dissemination systems.
  • Enhanced capacity of local communities to respond to disasters.
  • Improved access to emergency shelter, evacuation, and protection against wind storms, flooding and storm surge in high areas.
  • Strengthening DRM capacity at central, state and local levels in order to enable mainstreaming of risk mitigation measures into the overall development agenda.

Sources: PIB.