Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kalvari class of submarines

Topics Covered: Indigenization of technology.

Kalvari class of submarines:


Indian Navy’s fifth Kalvari-class Diesel Electric attack submarine INS Vagir was launched recently at Mazgaon Dock in Mumbai.

  • The other vessels in the class are INS Kalvari, INS Khanderi, INS Karanj, INS Vela and INS Vagsheer.

About Kalvari Class of submarines:

This class of submarines have Diesel Electric transmission systems and these are primarily attack submarines or ‘hunter-killer’ type which means they are designed to target and sink adversary naval vessels.

  • They can be used in anti-warship and anti-submarine operations, intelligence gathering and surveillance and naval mine laying.
  • These submarines are built under Project 75 and their design is based on the Scorpene class of the submarines.
  • Being constructed by the public sector shipbuilder Mazagon Dock Ltd (MDL) in Mumbai.
  • Design is based on Scorpene class of submarines designed and developed by French defence major Naval Group formerly DCNS and Spanish state owned entity Navantia.

(Note: In maritime parlance a class of ships is a group of vessels which have the same make, purpose and displacement).

Facts for Prelims:

(Just have a brief overview of these facts)

Origins of the names of ships mentioned above:

  1. Kalvari – means Tiger Shark.
  2. Vagir has been named after a Sand Fish, a predatory marine species.
  3. Khanderi has been named after an Island Fort built by Chhatrapati Shivaji, which played a key role in his Navy.
  4. Karanj has also been named after an Island located South of Mumbai.

India’s submarine fleet:

India currently operates one submarine each in nuclear powered Classes of Chakra and Arihant and in addition to 14 submarines belonging to three classes of Diesel Electric category — Kalvari, Shishumar and Sindhughosh.

Sources: Indian Express.