Print Friendly, PDF & Email

China slams Quad as a ‘closed clique’

Topics Covered: Important International institutions, agencies and fora, their structure, mandate.

China slams Quad as a ‘closed clique’:


China has reiterated its criticism of the meeting of the Foreign Ministers of Quad (India, Australia, Japan and the US) in Tokyo, saying it is opposed to the formation of “exclusive cliques” harming third party’s interests.


The foreign ministers from the Indo-Pacific nations known as the Quad group – the US, Japan, India and Australia recently met in Tokyo in what is their first in-person talks since the coronavirus pandemic began.

Why is China worried?

  • The meeting took place in the backdrop of China’s aggressive military behaviour in the Indo-Pacific, South China Sea and along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) in eastern Ladakh.
  • Besides, the strategic community in China has already branded the quad as an emerging “Asian NATO”.

What is Quad grouping?

The quadrilateral security dialogue includes Japan, India, United States and Australia.

  • All four nations find a common ground of being the democratic nations and common interests of unhindered maritime trade and security.
  • The idea was first mooted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007. However, the idea couldn’t move ahead with Australia pulling out of it.

Significance of the grouping:

  • Quad is an opportunity for like-minded countries to share notes and collaborate on projects of mutual interest.
  • Members share a vision of an open and free Indo-Pacific. Each is involved in development and economic projects as well as in promoting maritime domain awareness and maritime security.


Prelims Link:

  1. Quad- composition.
  2. When was it first proposed?
  3. Countries and important islands in the Indian Ocean region.
  4. Geographical overview of Indo-Pacific region.
  5. Important seas and straits in the region.

Mains Link:

A formal revival and re-invigoration of the Quad is called for to maintain peace and tranquillity and to ensure observance of the UN Law of the Seas. Examine.

Sources: the Hindu.