Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Govt notifies BS-VI emission norms for quadricycles

Topics Covered: Government policies and interventions for development in various sectors and issues arising out of their design and implementation.

Govt notifies BS-VI emission norms for quadricycles

What to study?

For Prelims: Overview of these norms.

For Mains: Difference between BS4 and BS6 emission norms, significance.

 Context: The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has issued notification regarding the emission norms for L7 (quadricycle) category for BS-VI. This notification completes the process of BS-VI for all category vehicles in India.

The emission norms are on the lines of the European Union’s World Motorcycle Test Cycle (WMTC).

What is the WMTC cycle?

It is a system of driving cycles used to measure fuel consumption and emissions in motorcycles.

The methods are stipulated as part of the Global Technical Regulation established under the UN World Forum for Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations, also known as WP.29.

What is a quadricycle?

It is the size of a three-wheeler but with four tyres and is fully covered like a car. It has an engine like that of a three-wheeler. This makes it a cheap and safe mode of transport for last-mile connectivity.

Dimensions: A quadricycle cannot be more than 3.6 metres long, should have an engine smaller than 800cc, and should not weigh more than 475 kilograms.


Regulation of quadricycles in India:

In 2018, the government had introduced the quadricycle segment with necessary standards to produce the vehicle. It had approved the vehicle for both commercial and private use.


Prelims Link:

  1. What is L7 category of vehicles?
  2. What are quadricycles?
  3. How are they regulated in India?
  4. Who administers emission norms in India?
  5. Difference between BS4 and 6 emission norms.

Mains Link:

Discuss the features and significance of BS6 Emission norms.

Sources: pib.