Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nari Shakti Puraskar

Topics Covered: Role of women and related issues.

Nari Shakti Puraskar

What to study?

For Prelims: Awards- objectives, eligibility criteria and benefits.

For Mains: Need for recognition and significance of these awards.

Context: To acknowledge Women’s achievements, the Government of India confers Nari Shakti Puraskars on eminent women and institutions in recognition of their service towards the cause of women empowerment.

Key facts:

  • Initiated in the year 1999.
  • The awards are given away by the President of India every year on 8 March, International Women’s Day.
  • The Ministry of Women and Child Development announces these national level awards for eminent women, organisations and institutions.
  • The Nari Shakti Puraskar carries a cash award of Rs.1 Lakh and a certificate for individuals and institutions.

 Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Open to individuals, groups and institutions for outstanding work towards empowerment of women.
  2. Individual applicant must be at least 25 years of age.
  3. Institutions must have at least 5 years of relevant experience.

Institutional categories:

Each of the six institutional categories is named after an eminent woman in Indian history.

  1. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Award for Best Private Sector organization/ Public sector undertaking in promoting the well-being and welfare of women, named after Ahilyabai Holkar, 18th-century ruler of the Malwa kingdom.
  2. Kannagi Devi Award for Best State which has appreciably improved Child Sex Ratio (CSR), named after Kannagi, the central character of the Tamil epic Silapathikaram.
  3. Mata Jijabai Award for Best Urban Local body for providing services and facilities to women, named after Mata Jijabai, mother of Shivaji, who founded the Maratha Empire in the 17th century.
  4. Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award for Best Civil Society organization (CSO) doing outstanding work for the welfare and well-being of women, named after Rani Gaidinliu, a 20th-century Naga spiritual and political leader
  5. Rani Lakshmi Bai Award for Best Institution for Research & Development in the field of women empowerment, named after Lakshmibai, one of the leading figures of the Indian Rebellion of 1857 and erstwhile queen of Jhansi.
  6. Rani Rudramma Devi Awards for two District Panchayats and two Gram Panchayats, named after Rudrama Devi, a 13th-century ruler of Deccan Plateau.

Insta Link:

Prelims Link:

  1. Categories and eligibility criteria for the awards.
  2. Significance and contributions of eminent women after whom these awards are named.
  3. Other such exclusive awards for women.

Mains Link:

Who was Rani Gaidinliu? Write a note on her contributions to the Indian society.

Sources: pib.