Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Quad countries

Topics covered:

  1. India and its neighbourhood- relations.


Quad countries


What to study?

For Prelims: Members of the Quad grouping, countries in the Indian ocean region, Chinese military bases.

For Mains: The Quad grouping- features, significance, concerns and potential.


Context: Foreign ministers of the Quad countries – India, US, Australia and Japan – met recently on the sidelines of the UNGA meeting.


Significance, focus and outcomes of latest meet:

  • The Ministers met to discuss cooperation on counter-terrorism, mentoring, assistance in disaster relief, airtime security, cooperation, development, finance and cybersecurity efforts etc.
  • The Quad countries were “resolute” in their view of the centrality of the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) in South East Asia


What is Quad grouping?

  1. The quadrilateral formation includes Japan, India, United States and Australia.
  2. All four nations find a common ground of being the democratic nations and common interests of unhindered maritime trade and security.
  3. The idea was first mooted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007. However, the idea couldn’t move ahead with Australia pulling out of it.


Significance of the grouping:

  1. Quad is an opportunity for like-minded countries to share notes and collaborate on projects of mutual interest.
  2. Members share a vision of an open and free Indo-Pacific.
  3. It is one of the many avenues for interaction among India, Australia, Japan and the US and should not be seen in an exclusive context.


Sources: the Hindu.


Mains Question: In its ambition and enthusiasm to actively engage in “Quadrilateral” grouping, India should not neglect its neighbours. Comment.